Book Reviews

The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon

“Koi no yokan :- It means love at second sight; the feeling you get when you meet someone for the first time and think you are going to fall in love with them.”

This Japanese phrase aptly defines what I felt when I started reading this book. And yeah after I finished reading it I just sat in silence for 10 minutes cause I needed that timeout to let it all sink in. I just love love love love loved this book. This is the second Nicola Yoon book I have read and I have to say she is turning out to be one of my favorite writers even though I have read just two of her books. While Everything Everything helped me get out of my reading slump, this book had me losing my night’s sleep to finish it.

Synopsis: Natasha is a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. She is definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when her family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be her story.

Daniel has always been the good son, the good student, living up to his parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when he sees her, he forgets about all that. Something about Natasha makes him think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of them.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

What I Felt: Let me emphasize again, I just love love love loved this book. Everything of it; the story, the characters, the cover. This is definitely the best book I have read this year and will certainly be in my top favorites, something I go to now and then. The writing is fresh and you connect to the story in an instant. Its “day in a life” story of multiple people with Natasha and Daniel being the main protagonists. They meet in a “destined-to-happen” way and over the course of the day they fall in love. They are completely opposites but they are like puzzles pieces which just fit. Also we have couple of mini characters who shape up their future unknowingly. I think there was not even a single moment in the story when I felt like this part could be edited out or skipped.

The characters are well written and I instantly fell in love with them. They aren’t  over the top or too pretentious or too perfect. They are just like you and me, making the same mistakes, facing the same confusions and emotions. I could definitely imagine myself in Daniel’s shoes ( I am more of dreamer kind). I have been ranting about not being able to connect to any of the characters for last couple of months. While my rant is finally over cause I could feel a kinship to all of them in someway or other.

The concept has been done before but Nicola has a way she spins the story that it feels anew. The way she gives us the story from both Natasha and Daniel’s perspective makes it more interesting. Also the added snipets or POVs of other characters give us a peek into their reasoning for why they are the way they are. I had a smile on my face throughout the journey that reading this story was ( and a little teary eyed as well at the end).

I would definitely recommend this book to everyone. I never do this but what the hell, go, like go right now to Amazon and get this here or you could try out at your local bookstore. Mine didnt have it.

I would give it a 5/5.

The feels:
*Everything is chemistry. Everything is combination and reaction. The atoms in my body align themselves with atoms in his.

*“What is god?” -> “The way we feel right now. This connection between us that we don’t understand and we don’t want to let go of? That’s God.”

*We’re trying to fit a lifetime into a day.

*The heart wants what it wants, they are talking about the poetic heart – the one that can break as if its were just formed glass. But the poetic heart is not to be trusted. It is fickle and will lead you astray. It will tell you that all you need is love and dreams. It will say nothing about food, water, shelter and money. It will tell you that this person, the one in front of you, the one who caught your eye for whatever reason, is the One. And he is. The One -for right now, until his heart decides on someone else or something else.

*I am going to with you to your house, and then we’re going to take a cab to the airport, just the two of us. Then I’m going to watch you get on a plane and feel my heart get ripped out of my fucking chest, and then I’m going to wonder for the rest of my life what could’ve happened if this day hadn’t gone just exactly the way it’s gone.

*You can buy the book –> .

The Sun is also a Star

Cheers!!
XoXo

2 thoughts on “The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

