Book Reviews · Uncategorized

A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston

“The world is not made of atoms. The world is made of stories”

And don’t we all love a good story. Come to think of it most of our daily lives are engulfed in stories; whether we are telling one or listening to one or being part of them. Movies, books, songs, paintings, even the “do you know what happened at work today” whispered at the end of the day are a story. I recently finished reading A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston, which is a modern day rendition of the old fable “A Thousand and One Nights” or popularly called as “Arabian Nights”.

Synopsis: He killed three hundred girls before he came to my village looking for a wife. When a powerful and dangerous king arrives in the desert to take one of the village girls as his next wife, one girl will stop at nothing to save the life of her sister – even if it means sacrificing herself.

At his palace she is sure death awaits. But the king’s fascination with her keeps her alive night after night, as the tales she weaves for him create a strange magic between them and her words come to life before her eyes. As her stories become more intricate and beautiful, her magic becomes more powerful, but will it be enough to save her?

What I Felt: If I have to describe this book in one word I would say it is page-turner. The cover is beautiful and kind of makes you pull the book right out. One of the few books you can judge by its cover. E. K. Johnston is an amazing storyteller. From page one she gets you hooked on to the magical world she spins for us.

The writing is clean and fresh. The characters do not have names, which I found as an interesting touch. It could be anyone’s story. I could be the girl saving world. Heroes do not need names. We all have a hero within us. After a long time I read a book with a strong female character without the usual feminism overdoing which is refreshing.

Coming to the cons, the characters don’t have much of a backstory for us to connect to. So I can’t say I fell in love with any of the characters. Also, I felt that some of the bits were very hastily finished which could have been elaborated just to give us a better picture. I did get a Harry Potter-ish kind of feel from it. “Love triumphs evil”. I know it’s a general theme and not Harry specific but still you get the gist. One thing Harry understands that Voldermort doesn’t which eventually helps him beat the Dark Lord. Love.

I would give this book a 3/5 👻  👻  👻

Cheers!!
XoXo

2 thoughts on “A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston

  1. I love fairytales or classic fantasy stories! I plan to read One Thousand and One Nights some time in the future (after saving up), and this one interests me!

    Retellings are great, and works referencing those classics are also awesome. I know that sometimes in those kind of story, there wouldn’t be much attachment to the character, but I believe an enjoyable time can still be achieved 🙂

    Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

