Book Reviews

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

“All of me, Loves all of you;
Love your curves and all your edges;
All your perfect imperfections;
Give your all to me, I’ll give my all to you;
You’re my end and my beginning;
Even when I lose I’m winning;
‘Cause I give you all of me.

Recently the books I have read are either mushy romances or teenage dramas and I had been so in need of a good science thriller. Something fast paced and intriguing, opening up a new world. And  A Thousand Pieces of You  is exactly what I was looking for. It had me hooked from the beginning and I finished this book within 2 days. Its part 1 of the Firebird trilogy and I cannot wait to get my hands on the other two books.

Synopsis: Marguerite Caine grew up surrounded by cutting edge scientific theories, thanks to her brilliant physicist parents. Yet nothing is more astounding than her mother’s latest invention, a device called the Firebird that allows people to leap into alternate dimensions. When Marguerite’s father is murdered, all the evidence points to one person- Paul, her parents’ enigmatic star student. Before the law can touch him, Paul slips into another dimension, having committed what seems like the perfect crime. But he didn’t count on Marguerite. With help of another physics student, Theo, Marguerite chases Paul through various dimensions. In each new world Marguerite leaps into, she meets another version of Paul that has her doubting his guilt and questioning her heart. Soon, she is swept into an epic love affair as dangerous as it is irresistible.

What I Felt:  A thousand lives. A thousand possibilities. One Fate. I was completely sold on this itself. To have questions and theories that bug you mind put forth into a story is amazing. Personally I am believer of alternate dimensions and parallel universes. Also destiny. Your whole life can be mapped out as a huge flowchart and each choice you make turns your life course towards a certain destiny (dimension). However the concept that certain things in your life are set to happen, certain people you are bound to meet and they are connected to you no matter what choices you make and whichever dimension you are in (Fate) blew my mind. It was like a neatly wrapped up present.

The whole adventure over multiple dimensions and all the twists and turns keeps you glued to the book. Love love loved how the story progresses and all the answers unfold, also how the author sneaks in few glimpses of the past getting us a better picture of the kind of relationship all the characters shared is great. And it does manage to surprise you with the ending which will definitely add some brownie points to it.

Coming to the cons or con I would say would be the characters. Even though I loved the story and whole set up I couldn’t connect to the characters. They were quiet one dimensional for a multi dimensional universe. But then this is the first book of the series so I guess with the other books they would grow and we can see more of insight into them especially Conley.

The feels: I think grief is the boundary line of adulthood. Not the crap they claim it is- graduating high school or losing your virginity or getting your first apartment or whatever. You cross the boundary the first time you’re changed forever. You cross it the first time you know you can never go back.

I would give this book a 3.5/5.

And definitely recommend it if you are in need of a good science fiction with a hint of romance.

And I would totally watch a movie based on this book. My movie cast would be.

  1. Mithila Palkar as Marguerite Caine
    mithila-palkar-actress
  2. Penn Badgley as Paul Markov
    be4f0221643237fbcf3bc5ebf765cf7b
  3. Douglas Booth as Theo
    7a190cd08a4e5cdd8576b137763714e1

Cheers!!
XoXo

3 thoughts on “A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Leave a Reply

