Book Reviews

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

“We are liars. We are beautiful and privileged. We are cracked and broken.”

Nothing summaries this whole story more than the above three sentences. It’s a tale of love, romance and tragedy interwoven with family and relationships: mother-daughter, sister-sister,father-daughter. It story of our protagonist Cadence Sinclair and the various summers she spent at her family’s private island. The story flits between the past and the present day after Cadence’s accident.

img_3522

I have mixed feelings about this book. In a way I did like the way its written. Its fast paced and keeps you hooked. The summers and the relationship between all the cousins reminded me of my childhood days spent cycling and playing hide and seek or at the nearby creek catching fish. However ending wasn’t much of surprise for me since I guessed it within few chapters. I had seen a horror movie with a similar concept and maybe that’s why i didn’t find it wow. I had heard great reviews about it and that’s why I had bought it. My mom for one loved it.

I would give it 3/5 rating.

Cheers!!
XoXo

Leave a Reply

