Book Reviews

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

“Love is worth everything. Everything.”

As all you know i have been going through a reading slump off late. And worse than reading slump has been my ability to put what’s going on inside my head onto paper. Ah!! Terrible. But one thing that didn’t change during all this time is my safe haven that is Crossword bookstore. I experience a certain kind of peace there like some people experience in temples and churches. So like I was saying, I was roaming around in Crossword going through the new arrivals, scouring through the old ones to check if I missed any on my last visit is when I came across this white beauty. It had a very interesting cover. White ( which is my favorite color) with colorful doodles. Very simplistic yet attractive.

img_2320
The beautiful cover

So I just picked it up and found myself a quiet corner and started reading it and I was hooked within first few pages and I knew I was going to end up buying it which I did.

Summary:
snapseed

What I Felt: I just fell in love with this story. Like I said at the beginning it has you hooked from the start. On the top level it looks like your normal teenage love story but it various layers to it. It focuses on motherly love and the extent a mother can go to protect their child. It also shows the love and care within friendship shared between Maddy and her nurse Carla. It has perfect mixture of drama, action and comedy. The way the writer has explained the various feelings one goes through when they are in love:- like confusion, anxiety, paranoia, euphoria is to the point. The book also has this little illustrations now and then which are really cute.

Coming to the characters, We have four main characters Madeline, Oliver, Pauline ( Maddy’s mom) and Carla. I found them likable as well as relatable. Madeline (Maddy) on the first look is really grown up and mature for her age. Her self control is commendable. But as the story progresses we see her 16 year old side break through wanting freedom and personal space, trying to find herself away from her mother. Oliver (Olly) is your usual steal your heart kind of kid. He is funny, athletic, adventurous, caring and has an emotional side to him. He was definitely my favorite character. Their love reminded me of what Damon says to Elena when they meet for the first time about what she wants in life.

de87cb02cfb4cd96a0e006fd8346eb02

The relationship between Maddy and her mom is aptly depicted. It reminded me of the summer when all my friends were out of town and how my mom used to play card games with me, or even though I have grown up still how protective she is of me. Even a mere flu gives her sleepless nights.

The feels:

  • I want to say something, not just something, but the perfect thing to comfort him, to make him forget his family for a few minutes, but I can’t think of it. This is why people touch. Sometimes words are just not enough.
  • Sometimes I reread my favorite books from back to front. I start with the last chapter and read backward until I get to the beginning. When you read this way, characters go from hope to despair, from self knowledge to doubt. In love stories, couples start out as lovers and end as strangers. Coming of age books become stories of losing your way. Your favorite characters come back to life.
  • Human beings are mysterious and paradoxical.
  • “Why do people buy all this stuff?”
    “It’s so we remember to remember.”
  • Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.

I would definitely recommend this book to everyone because it one of those books you can read again and again.

I would give it a 4/5.

My choice for movie cast will be:

  1. Josh Dun as Oliver ( I know he isn’t an actor but when I immediately pictured him when I read about Olly)
    josh-dun
  2. Emma Roberts as Madeline
    download
  3. Michelle Fairley as Pauline
    mv5bmji5otczotq5nl5bml5banbnxkftztcwmtu4mzezoq-_v1_uy1200_cr7906301200_al_
    Cheers!!
    XoXo!!

 

2 thoughts on “Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

