Book Reviews

Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

“The eight story. Nineteen years later.”

IMG_4370

Harry Potter. Who could have thought a single book(series) could affect our lives so much. For me it has been so much more than just a fantasy story. It’s been an education, the first ever waiting for book release, a emotion, a love affair,it’s been pretty much my whole childhood to teenager transition. So when I heard that after 9 years a new Harry Potter book was coming out my tummy did a few jiggles. Okay it wasn’t an officially J.K Rowling written book,rather an adaptation of a Harry Potter based play. But I couldn’t stop myself and pre-ordered my copy from Amazon. Amazon is my favourite site to shop for books as they offer really good prices and the delivery is always on time or mostly before the given date. However this time I was kind of disappointed as rather than delivering on 2nd August as promised they delivered it 2 days late 😞 Anyways when I received the package I literally tore away the packaging and holding the orangish gold book in hand was no where less than holding couple of shopping bags 😃 I started reading it as soon as I got home and finished the book in straight 2 hours.

Synopsis:The story is set 19 years after Harry Potter and Deathly Hallows. Harry now is not only a husband and a father but also works as the Head of Magical Law Enforcement. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs,his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted.As past and present fuse ominously both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth;sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.

What I Felt: *Deep Sigh* I will not beat around the bush and just say that I was very disappointed with this book. Without comparing this to the Rowling’s writing and original series, it still didn’t meet my expectations. I felt Harry was totally out of character. I don’t think Harry would ever threaten Minerva or Hogwarts no matter how paranoid or angry he is. Also he would never make his child feel not loved after the childhood he had. Hermoine is non existent and Ron has been turned into Fred. As for the new character of Albus, I didn’t like him at all. There was no backstory as to why he acted or felt the way he did. Augury whole existence was questionable for me. If she is the supposed daughter of Voldemort and Bellatrix, when did they get time to procreate. Bella was in Azkaban till mid of fifth book. And Even after than she was roaming around killing and torturing people. How did no one not notice if she was pregnant? How did death eaters like Rowles escape Azkaban to bring up a secret child?  And what makes one think of being like their father after hearing all the evil and horrible things they have done? The only character I like was Scorpius. He was funny, smart and worth HP world.

The concept was interesting. It was like the world of Harry Potter had collided with Butterfly Effect or About Time movies. But it contradicted the time turtle concept we came across in Harry Potter and Prisoner of Azkaban. Even though they used the time turtle and went back in past they never did change anything. They just made sure that it happened they way it should have. Like a time travelling Harry casting a Patronus to save himself from past. But here they were able to completely rewrite the past. And Panju ? Seriously !!! 😡. Also I didn’t get who was the cursed child ? Was it Albus or Augury?

I know this is a play involving the Harry Potter world and characters and we can’t expect the same level as the books. However at least to me Harry Potter is a sacred world and playing around and tweaking with it just didn’t suit my tastes. In short this would receive an F in Wizarding world O.W.Ls

I would give it a 2.7/5 👻  👻 ✋🏼✌🏻

Cheers!!
XoXo!!

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

