Book Reviews

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

“That moment when you realise that a guy’s looking at you differently – that you are taking up more space in his field of vision. That moment when you know he can’t see past you anymore.”
Every book has such a moment too:- it can be a line or a paragraph or a chapter that has you converted. When you step out of the reality into a parallel universe. When you cannot put the book down until you have read that last page but still a long time after you have finished it, it stays with you like a whiff of a perfume. I guess this is the connection which separates good books from awesome ones. It took me 5 chapters to get hooked to Fangirl but once I was, I finished off the remaining book in just 3 straight hours.

This book is about a lot of things. Firstly,as the title suggests it is a story of a Fangirl, Cath who is obsessed with Simon Snow and Baz( Harry Potter and Draco Malfoy of our universe). She is shy, social inept, good at writing words than speaking them. Whereas her twin sister Wren is a total extrovert, experience all things in life kind,the prettier sister ( in Cath’s own words).Growing up they were like two parts of the same organism. They used to write fan fiction about Simon Snow and Baz which is almost as famous as the books. However now that they have joined college, Wren breaks free of her old life. She wants them to find their own individual selves. So while Wren enjoys her freshman year with partying and getting drunk, Cath still finds it difficult to adjust in the college life. She would rather live in the parallel universe of Simon and Baz than talk to real people. But with time she not only makes unusual friends in her no nonsense roommate Reagan and Reagan’s best friend Levi but also learns to overcome her fears.

Secondly it is a love story between Cath and Levi which I just loved. It was pretty believable. How the relationship starts from friendship and progresses into love is cute. You can find yourself immersed in the beauty of first love. And its not just pretty words. It makes you feel for them too. For example when there is a misunderstanding between them after the first kiss and it looks like they have broken up I was pretty upset too. The little moments that they share like Cath reading to Levi or how Levi is there for her when her sister or dad is in hospital or just the way he treats her makes me wish I had a Levi of my own. 

Thirdly, it is about Simon and Baz. There are excerpts from Simon Snow novel as well as the fan fiction account. And I won’t lie but I am intrigued by the Simon and Baz love angle in the fan fiction.  Well I have just started Carry On which is a spin off on Simon and Baz. Though i am not sure if its same as the Carry On Cath was writing.

What I loved about the book is the story. It is very relatable. At some point in our life we all have obsessed about something, may it be a tv series or a hobby or a sport, etc. I can remember my school years when i was almost as crazy about Harry Potter series as Cath. I used to think of myself as a wizard and used to make up stories about them for my younger siblings. I literally had goblins living in our flower pots which actually were some sort of insects but since the movies weren’t out till then i used to call them goblins. Also it has depicted the feelings of stepping out of your comfort zone and how hard it can be to start a new life with all new people pretty well. I, myself have moved a couple of cities and it can get pretty lonely initially.

Also the characters are interesting though i felt that Wren’s POV should have been covered or explained more. Maybe give her just one-two chapters where she explains the reasons behind her actions. My favourite character was Levi. He was a ball of sunshine throughout the book. And just reading about him smiling in the book put a smile across my face. All in all the book gives a really good message about importance of family and friends and more so that if you believe in people and give them a chance, they will come through.

I would give it a 4/5 stars 👻 👻 👻 👻

I would definitely love to see it as a movie and here are my suggestions for who should play the characters🙈 What do you guys think?

Kristen Stewart as Cath and Wren
Zac Efron as Levi
Alex Pettyfer as Nick
Mila Kunis as Reagan

 
Cheers!

XoXo

3 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I’m probably one of the few people in the world that hated Eleanor & Park, and I’ve been putting off Fangirl ever since. I really don’t feel like wasting my time in another overhyped book that will totally disappoint me… Ahg I don’t know what to do ahah

    Like

Leave a Reply

