Book Reviews

When We Collided by Emery Lord

“You are the piece of me I wish I didn’t need,
Chasing relentlessly,still fight and I don’t know why.
If our love is tragedy,why are you my remedy.
If our love’s insanity,why are you my clarity.”

They say love works in mysterious ways. One might have a mental checklist regarding the person we want to fall in love with. But more often than not, the one who takes our heart is completely different to that. I guess people are not lists. And even though this concept has been explored in many books and movies nothing presents it in a sweeter way than “When we collided”. I had been wanting to read this for the longest time so when I finally got my hands on it, it was like winning a scavenger hunt. I finished it off in like 5 straight hours. Yeah, I was a walking zombie the next day, but who cares when you have a warm feeling ball inside you. You know when you go out on a rainy day and you feel all cold and wet and then some one gives you hot coffee to drink which just brightens the damp day, that’s how it feels after reading this book.

It is a teenage love story with a twist. The title says it all. Jonah and Vivian, two complete opposites who fall in love. Where Jonah is caring,responsible,cute, think before you act kind of guy Viv is outgoing, friendly,impulsive, want to experience everything kind of girl.Their worlds collide and there are instant sparks. Viv brings color into the black and white world of Jonah and his family. As the summer progresses they help each other grow as well deal with all the crazy things life has to throw at them.

I loved the way the story is narrated from both Jonah’s and Vivi’s point of view: One chapter for Vivi and the next for Jonah,repeat. We get the story from both of their perspectives. It also has a parallel storyline about dealing with loss, grief, depression. These serious issues have been beautifully represented on a backdrop of a cute summer romance. In short I loved it from page one to the end.

I would definitely recommend it and give it 4/5. 👻 👻 👻 👻

The feels:

When I met Jonah Daniels yesterday, there was a magical shift in the trajectory of my summer. He’s the ring to my Frodo, the wardrobe to my Lucy Pevensie.

It’s all so fleeting, isn’t it? The ocean existed so long before us and will stay long after us, even trees and some animals. Isn’t that crazy? My dress collection will live longer than I ever will.

I am looking for some kind of permanence, so my mark will linger on the world once I’m gone, in the places I found joy.

Maybe we were dying planets being drawn into the darkness. When we collided, we bounced each other back into orbit. And now we have to do that- we have to return to our own paths because that’s what we gave each other.

That’s the thing you never tell about love stories: just because one ends, that doesn’t mean it failed.

Vivi was here.

Cheers!!
XoXo

 

2 thoughts on “When We Collided by Emery Lord

Leave a Reply

